Clearing the mental clutter

{post by Karen}

I’m planning to do a proper blog post soon (a follow-up to Learning to Surf, wherein I have my first truly Australian wildlife experience), but I just read this post from Ryder at The Bulletjournalist and it struck a chord, so I thought I’d share.

mental-clutter

The article is about mental clutter and the way it can hold us back. It recommends decluttering by writing down all of the to-do items that are swirling around in your head,  then getting Marie Kondo on it.

  • Is this task vital?
  • Does it really matter to me or someone I love?

If not, let it go.

It’s like throwing out all the stuff you don’t love when you’re moving homes. Cut the dead weight. Bring only the things that continue to inspire you.

Ahh, doesn’t it feel great to bask in the peacefulness inside our cleared heads? haha! Funny joke, right? Okay, so maybe it sometimes takes a bit more than just writing things down. Prioritising your tasks is certainly important, but I often find that I’m still overwhelmed by my task list, even when I ignore those items that are less important. So what’s the solution?

Let’s have a look back at Julia’s post from last May, about finding Yin. She recommends making purposeful changes, taking deliberate actions to break ourselves out of stress-induced ruts. It almost doesn’t really matter what the action is, whether it crosses anything off your to-do list, as long as you have mindfully made a decision to do something, as opposed to mindlessly doing anything to avoid making decisions. I don’t know about you guys, but I find that making a conscious, deliberate effort to accomplish one thing, regardless of what it is, helps me to find the brain-space to tackle my to-do list. It seems the more I do, the more energy I have. How does that work?

Mushroom in forest.jpg

Maybe I get so overwhelmed by the things I need to remember to do, that I can’t see the wood for the trees. But if I pick a tree, any old tree, and give it my mindful attention, the rest of the forest becomes clearer. And I guess that the whole point of mindful practice – focusing on one single thing, in order to clear the mental clutter, so that everything else in our lives becomes clearer.

Leave a Reply

